Idaho's Second Session of the Forty-first Legislature amended Section 33-2400 of Idaho Code, Correspondence and Other Private Courses.
One amendment authorized the State Board of Education at the May, 1972, meeting became effective July 2, 1972, and reads:
"An applicant student may cancel his enrollment within 72 hours after midnight of the day on which the enrollment agreement is signed and receive a full refund of all monies paid to the school or it's representative. The applicant student will receive a minimum of seven days in which to cancel the enrollment agreement and the seller may retain not more than $50.00."
"For a student requesting cancellation of his enrollment after he has started the course, the charge made will be based on lessons completed or time spent and shall be computed on the following prorated basis:
• 50% retention during the first quarter*
• 75% retention during the second quarter
• 100% retention during the third and fourth quarters
*Quarter means time reasonably expected for completion of one-fourth of the course."
"In the case of student illness or accident, death in the family, or other circumstances beyond the control of the student, the student shall be entitled to consideration and the school shall make a settlement which is reasonable to both."
• All money SHALL be refunded to the student if his notice of cancellation is dated before 72 hours after signing the contract.
• All but $50.00 shall be refunded to the student if notice of cancellation is dated after 72 hours but before seven days after signing the contract.
• Fifty percent of the total cost of the course shall be refunded to the student if the date of cancellation occurs during the first quarter of the course.
• Twenty-five percent of the total cost shall be refunded to the student if the date of cancellation occurs after the first quarter but before the first half of the course is completed.
• No refund will be made to the student after the first half of the course is completed.
A reasonable agreement shall be made if, for any circumstances beyond the control of the student, the course is canceled at any time before the course is completed.
Completion of any course does not entitle a person to practice equine dentistry in Idaho unless you are a licensed Idaho veterinarian or working with one.